Discover A Golden Day Out

Museum of Lead Mining

Make your way along village paths to the miners’ cottages and see how the miners really lived in the different periods of 1750, 1850 & 1910 before exploring the second oldest subscription Library in Europe. Enter the Visitor Centre to discover a fantastic display of rocks, minerals, gold, mining and local artefacts.

Opening times icon

Opening Times

Summer
30th March oto 30th September,  11.00am-4.30pm
 

Winter
October to March CLOSED

Telephone icon

Telephone

+44 (0) 1659 74387

Email icon

Email

info@leadminingmuseum.co.uk

Ticket icon

Ticket info

All 4 Sites (Mine, Cottages, Library & Museum)

  • Adult: £12.50
  • Child: £7.90 (Please note that the mine is unsuitable for children under 5yrs)
  • Concession: £11.00

Single Site Mine or Cottages

  • Adult :£5.50
  • Child: £4.50

Single Site Museum/Library

  • Adult/Child: £4.50
Museum of Lead Mining collection icon image

The Collection

Wanlockhead is recognised for its Miner’s Library, the second oldest subscription Library in Scotland and indeed Europe and was established ‘...for our mutual improvement.' on the 1st November 1756 with 32 men. The Library was funded by subscriptions from the Miners, but a contribution was also made by mining companies too in order to encourage ‘self-improvement’ in the miners.